About Kyung Hee

Home > About Kyung Hee > Media & Press > News



NO.16 04.09.2012

Ten Kyung Hee Fellows Announced

Ten professors were announced as Kyung Hee Fellows for 2012. 

This year’s fellows are: Jeong-Yoo Kim (Department of Economics, College of Politics and Economics), Hun Kuk Park (Department of Medicine, College of Medicine), Sunghoon Kim (Department of Oriental Medicine, College of Oriental Medicine), Hyunsu Bae (Department of Oriental Medicine, College of Oriental Medicine), Dong-Hyun Kim (Department of Pharmacy, College of Pharmacy), Suk-Ho Choi (Department of Applied Physics, College of Applied Sciences), Sungho Choi (Department of Philosophy, College of Humanities), Jae Su Yu (Department of Electronics and Radio Engineering, College of Electronics & Information), Jin-Woo Bae (Department of Biology, College of Science), and Han-Ki Kim (Department of Advanced Materials Engineering for information & Electronics, College of Engineering).


Professors with Outstanding Research Outcomes Selected to Receive Grant of 30 Million Won Per Year.


The Kyung Hee Fellow program was started in 2008 with the purpose of honoring research achievements and invigorating research culture. The selection committee names up to 20 Kyung Hee Fellows per year amongst faculty with a record of outstanding research for the previous three years, who are then appointed for two-year terms and are awarded 30 million won each year. In addition, the teaching requirements of appointed Fellows are reduced to 6―9 credit hours per year, allowing Fellows to focus solely on research in the second semester if this requirement is fulfilled during the first semester.


Professors Jeong-Yoo Kim, Dong-Hyun Kim, Suk-Ho Choi, and Sunghoon Kim reselected for second terms
Professors Jeong-Yoo Kim and Dong-Hyun Kim, who were appointed as Fellows in the first year of the program in 2008, were reappointed this year in recognition of their efforts to raise the quality of research at the University. Professor Jeong-Yoo Kim was named the most prolific scholar among those who have published papers in SSCI journals by the Joongang Daily economics program review, while Professor Dong-Hyung Kim has published numerous papers in renowned pharmacology journals such as Biochemical Pharmacology and the British Journal of Pharmacology.


Following his appointment in 2009, Professor Suk-Ho Choi has also been named a Kyung Hee Fellow for a second term. He published the world’s first study on the light amplification of graphene, a cutting edge nanomaterial, in the September 15, 2010 edition of the world’s most renowned physics journal, Physical Review Letters, in addition to 130 papers in various prestigious SCI journals worldwide. Last year, Professor Choi was awarded for his outstanding research achievements by the Korean Physics Society.


Professor Sunghoon Kim was also selected for a second term following his appointment in 2010. Over the past three years, he has published 137 papers in numerous SCI and SCIE journals such as Molecular Cancer Therapeutics, published by the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), and the Journal of Pineal Research, a leading publication in neuroscience.

The Kyung Hee Fellow program began in 2008 with two Fellowships. Ten Fellows were appointment in 2009 and eight Fellows were appointed in both 2010 and 2011.

Facebook 12
Twitter 10

Return to News

News List

Highlight News